Formula 1 has announced the schedule for the 2022 FIA World Championship, bringing tourists back to popular destinations including Monaco, Abu Dhabi and Miami.

Racing fans can choose from 23 Grand Prix events, the most in the circuit’s history, with cities including Barcelona, Budapest, Sao Paulo, Singapore and Melbourne.

“The 2022 season follows an unprecedented two years for Formula 1 in which the Covid-19 pandemic resulted in a revised calendar of 17 races in 2020 and 22 races in 2021, a huge achievement given the international nature of the sport,” an F1 spokesman said.

“While we hope the virus recedes further in the coming months, for everyone around the world, we will continue to closely monitor the situation and work closely with the promoters and national authorities.”

Formula 1 Calendar 2022

The championships will begin in Sakhir, Bahrain, on March 20 and conclude in Abu Dhabi on November 20.

Races will also take place in Barcelona on May 22, Monaco on May 29, Silverstone on July 3, Le Castellet  on July 24 and Monza on September 11.

Next year will mark the first time F1 has raced four times in North America since 1984, along with the return of the Canadian Grand Prix.

Two events will also be held in the US, with Miami on May 8 and Austin, Texas on October 23.

China will not be included on the 2022 calendar due to Covid-19 conditions.

Stefano Domenicali, President and CEO of Formula 1, said: “We are very pleased with the interest in Formula 1 from places that want to host races and the growth of the sport, and believe we have a fantastic calendar for 2022 with destinations like Miami joining famous and historic venues.”

The Formula 2 and Formula 3 calendars have also been approved by the WMSC and will be released imminently.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *