An increasing number of countries are closing their borders to visitors from France as Covid-19 infections continue to rise in a “second wave” across the country.

Denmark has closed its borders to French travellers since 29 August. Borders will reopen when the number of cases is less than 20 for every 100,000.

Hungary also decided to close all its borders to visitors from France since 1 September 2020, as has Ukraine since 26 August (for a period of 30 days). Hungarian nationals coming home are quarantined for two weeks. The borders of Cyprus have been closed to the French since 28 August and French travellers to Slovakia must carry out a 14-day quarantine, as is the case for Ireland. Finland has also closed its borders to the French.

The UK decided to impose a 14-day quarantine on all people entering the country from France since 15 August.

Since 23 August, Germany has classified France’s Ile-de-France and PACA region as risk zones, meaning travellers from these two regions must be tested within 72 hours of entry or undergo two weeks’ quarantine. Travellers from France who have taken a PCR test less than 48 hours before entering the territory with the results in English or German are exempt from the test.

It is still possible for French residents to travel to Switzerland, Austria, the Czech Republic, Poland, Serbia, Romania, Bulgaria and Sweden without restrictions, and it is possible to travel to Italy, Greece, the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain or Croatia by filling out a form.

Iceland, Madeira, the Azores and Turkey, require a negative Covid-19 test to avoid quarantine. Baltic countries have been quarantining French travellers since 3 August and Norway has applied quarantine rules since 7 August.

Photo – top of page – Copenhagen inner city … off limits for the moment for French travellers… copyright Visit Denmark

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *